What's On » Going Out » Articles »

Ardhowen shows to raise the temperature

Published: 13 Jul 2012 13:000 comments

You might be forgiven for thinking that we are in the autumn season with the weather that we have been having recently, but hopefully the shows that are lined up at the Ardhowen for July and August will keep the temperature up a bit starting with 'Bap Kennedy In Concert' on Friday 20 July at 9pm in the Gallery Bar followed by 'Barnbrack' with special guest Gary Wilson on Saturday 21 July at 8pm.

Barnbrack with special guest Gary Wilson play the Ardhowen Theatre on Saturday, July 21.

Following on from these two great evenings of music is the hilarious farce 'A Wake In The West' presented by Belvoir Players.

This will be showing over three nights on Thursday 26, Friday 27 and Saturday 28 July at 8pm. It's drama again over the first two weekends in August when Southbank Playhouse presents 'Absurd Person Singular' by Alan Ayckbourn based on three couples, three different parties and too many crises to count on Thursday 2, Friday 3 and Saturday 4 August at 8pm. Then Holywood Players take to the stage with 'Don't Lose The Place' by Derek Benfield on Thursday 9, Friday 10 and Saturday 11 August at 8pm following a girl's rather unconventional way of replacing the boyfriend who dumped her.

Saturday 18 August sees 'The Elvis Spectacular' featuring CC Houlihan and The Sweet Sensations keep the King's memory alive with hits from each stage of Elvis' career from the 50s to the Las Vegas years. The show starts at 8pm.

From Thursday 23 to Monday 27 August the 'Happy Days Enniskillen International Beckett Festival' takes place starting with 'Edna O'Brien Live and in Conversation with William Crawley' on Thursday 23 August at 7.30pm. Edna O'Brien is of course the legendary Irish writer and William Crawley is a BBC journalist and broadcaster. Then Robert Wilson directs and stars in the preview of 'Krapp's Last Tape' by Samuel Beckett on Friday 24 August at 8.30pm followed by shows on Saturday 25 August at 8.30pm, Sunday 26 August at 3pm and 8.30pm and Monday 27 August at 3pm.

Full details about the festival can be found on their website www.happy-days-enniskillen.com.

The summer programme of events at the Ardhowen Theatre finishes with 'Celebrating 25 Years with Mick Flavin and Friends' on Thursday 30 August at 8pm, '40 Years of the Sands Family In Concert' on Friday 31 August at 8pm and 'Billy Boy Miskimmin's Mercy Lounge' with special guest Rab McCullough on Saturday 1 September at 9pm in the Gallery Bar.

Tickets for all the shows can be purchased from the comfort of your own home online 24 hours a day at www.arhowentheatre.com - you can even print out your own tickets at home!

Jump to first paragraph.

Comments

comments powered by Disqus