Fermanagh Authors’ Association launched Fermanagh Miscellany 2016 on Saturday, October 17 in Enniskillen Library, Hall’s Lane, Enniskillen. The tenth edition of the book is a milestone for the organisation.

Fermanagh Miscellany 2016 is the tenth volume in their annual Fermanagh Miscellany series which showcases new writing by members of the Fermanagh Authors’ Association. Like its predecessors, it explores the diverse facets of local history.

The book includes short stories, reminiscences, historical articles and poems showcasing the diversity and vitality of literary talent and traditions in Fermanagh. The cover features a striking image of the tower on Devenish Island reflected in the water.

This year’s volume is dedicated to one of their own members, Séamas MacAnnaidh, novelist, broadcaster and teacher in both Irish and English.

Dianne Trimble, FAA Secretary said: “Fermanagh Miscellany 2016 contains articles and stories about the man who made Belleek, the pain and pleasure of emigration, a countrywoman’s encounter with Belfast, nineteenth century travellers’ impressions of Fermanagh, life within a border checkpoint, the origin of Lisnaskea’s stone cross, the midnight bells in Newtownbutler in 1932, the thatched cottage architectural divide, running a family home in the early 1900s and the Inniskillings meeting the silent weapon - poison gas on the Somme.” John Cunningham, FAA Chair, added: “The book will be on sale for the modest price of £4.99 and will make a very attractive Christmas gift for both Fermanagh people living locally, for those living away from home and visitors to the county”.

The Fermanagh Authors’ Association was founded in 2005 to promote local writers and their work; authors from Fermanagh or writing about Fermanagh. They have produced a collection of their writings every year since the organisation was founded. Fermanagh Miscellany 2016 features work by Séamas Mac Annaidh, John B. Cunningham, Bryan Gallagher, Dermot Maguire, Vicky Herbert, Dianne Trimble, Michael Donnelly, Winston Graydon, Florence Creighton, Linda Swindle and Michael McPhillips.