As the dust settles on the 2019 Local Council elections, the picture is clearer in Fermanagh and Omagh and there is quite a bit of change.

There are new faces across the District and some more familiar faces making their way back into political life.

In Erne East the biggest story is that of Independent John McCluskey who took a strong vote to take a seat of Sinn Féin. 

Sinn Féin’s Chris McCaffery and SDLP candidate Adam Gannon are two of the youngest Councillors to be elected following the voting in Erne West.

There are three new faces in Erne North, although there is no change in the parties represented.

Siobhán Currie (SF), John McClaughry (UUP) and Deborah Armstrong (DUP) are all new to the Council in the Erne North DEA.

Former Sinn Féin Councillor Donal O Cofaigh has taken a seat in Enniskillen at the expense of his old party and Debbie Coyle.

Mid Tyrone has seen the election of Emmet McAleer as an Independent who ran a strong campaign against mining in the Sperrins.

Rosemarie Shields who defected to Aontú from the SDLP failed to keep her seat.

In West Tyrone, husband and wife Frankie and Anne-Marie Donnelly were running for Sinn Féin.

Sitting Councillor Frankie Donnelly was replaced by his wife Anne-Marie.

In Omagh, Barry McElduff made a successful return to politics for Sinn Féin following the controversy that surrounded him last year.

He is joined by newcomer Stephen Donnelly of the Alliance Party.

Councillors – 

Enniskillen – Keith Elliott (DUP), Paul Blake (SDLP), Robert Irvine (UUP), Howard Thornton (UUP), Tommy Maguire (SF), Donal O Cofaigh (Cross-Party Labour Alternative)

Erne East – Paul Robinson (DUP), Victor Warrington (UUP), John McCluskey (Ind), Sheamus Greene (SF), Thomas O’Reilly (SF), Garbhan McPhillips (SDLP).

Erne North – Diana Armstrong (UUP), John Coyle (SDLP), Siobhán Currie (SF), John McClaughry (UUP), Deborah Armstrong (DUP).

Erne West – Alex Baird (UUP), Anthony Feely (SF), Bernice Swift (Ind), Chris McCaffery (SF), Adam Gannon (SDLP).

Mid Tyrone – Emmet McAleer (Ind), Pádraigín Kelly (SF), Catherine Kelly (SF), Bert Wilson (UUP), Sean Clarke (SF), Sean Donnelly (SF).

Omagh – Errol Thompson (DUP), Barry McElduff (SF), Josephine Deehan (Ind), Stephen Donnelly (Alliance), Christopher Smyth (UUP), Anne Marie Fitzgerald (SF).

West Tyrone – Mark Buchanan (DUP), Anne-Marie Donnelly (SF), Glen Campbell (SF), Stephen McCann (SF), Mary Garrity (SDLP), Allan Rainey (UUP)