The presentation of awards to winning exhibitors at this year’s Fermanagh County Show took place on Monday evening in the Killyhevlin Hotel, Enniskillen.

There was a large turnout of exhibitors representing the schoolchildren’s section, dog show, poultry and home industries sections.

The evening’s programme began with a welcome from Lord Anthony Hamilton, President of Fermanagh Farming Society, who especially welcomed Mr. David Brown, President of the Ulster Farmers’ Union and his wife, Mary who presented the prizes.

Mrs Ann Orr, Chairman, gave a review of the Show, indicating that DAERA recently offered support to shows which will go towards the purchase of new equipment for next year. She referred to two new cups this year, the Cecil Chartres Memorial Cup for the most first prizes in the cut flowers, pot plants and vegetable sections and a new Farming Life Cup for the highest points in the secondary school section which replaces a cup originally presented by the News Letter in 1955.


COLLUM SHIELD BOY: highest points, Joseph Foster, Kilskeery Independent Christian School.

COLLUM SHIELD GIRL: Eliana Foy, highest points, Derrygonnelly Primary School and Faith McFarland, Kilskeery Ind Ch. School.

1989 SMALL SCHOOLS CUP: highest points for less than 160 Pupils - Irvinestown PS.

EILEEN MAGEE CUP; highest points for more than 170 Pupils - Lisbellaw PS.

FARMING LIFE CUP; highest points in secondary school - St Aidan’s High School, Derrylin.

DOONAN SHIELD; PS with highest points in handwriting - Enniskillen Model Primary School.


THORNHILL TROPHY; champion young handler - Dervla Nugent.

SCOTT TROPHY; champion terrier - Sarah Browne.

KOZIE KENNELS & CATTERY SHIELD; champion dog in show - Katie Nevin.

KILLYREAGH P C CUP; champion gun dog -Katie Nevin.

BELMORE CUP; champion dog (classes 7-12) - Jennifer Cawley.

K9 KENNELS & K9 KUTZ TROPHY; best groomed dog - William Morton.


THE INA BYERS CUP; best bird in the poultry classes -Ryan McLaren.

VEITCH PERPETUAL CHALLENGE CUP; best wyandotte - Matthew Kerr.


LAYMORE PERPETUAL TROPHY; most points in poultry - Andrew Kerr.


GEORGE ELLIOTT CHALLENGE CUP; best vintage tractor - Edward Coalter.


DODO NOBLETT PALETTE; Art - Caroline Nicholson.

THE HERON CUP II; highest points in photography classes - Marie Holmes.

FERMANAGH COTTAGE INDUSTRIES CUP; highest points in needle craft - Avril Stubbs and Elaine Blanpied.

MAISIE GUY CUP; highest points in jam section - Dorrie Foy.

HASSARD CUP; highest points in adult cookery section -Eva Baxter.

MALLARD HOME BAKES TROPHY I; best exhibit in specified classes -Eva Baxter.

MALLARD HOME BAKES TROPHY II; best exhibit in juvenile cookery section(under 12yrs) - Ella Wylie, Ellie Henderson and Lewis Dunn.

BAKER MEMORIAL CUP; highest points in juvenile cookery over 12 years - Hannah Graham.

FORSTER RICHARDSON CUP, winner of special class - Yvonne Elliott.

ERNE FLOWER SOCIETY P C CUP; best exhibit in show - Yvonne Elliott.

IRENE HUGHES PC CUP; highest points in flower exhibits -Yvonne Elliott.

W.I. TROPHY;- Crystal -Kesh WI.

WINSLOW PC CUP; Rose of the show - Margaret Gray.

FLORENCECOURT PC CUP; best hardy herbaceous perennials - Joan Nixon.

SILVER PC; Best sweet pea in - Charles Plunkett.

LISGOOLE CUP; highest points in fruit classes - Noel Coffey.

ASDA SHIELD; winner of the ‘veggie box’ - Dougal Dorman, Colebrooke Gardens.

CECIL CHARTRES MEMORIAL CUP; Most First Prizes in Cut Flowers Pot Plants and Vegetable sections - Brian Donaldson.


KILLYHEVLIN TROPHY; Best stand in the Foodhall - Evie Morrison.

COBURN CUP; highest points in vegetable classes - Brian Donaldson.

SILVER JUBILEE PC CUP; Highest points in Industrial Classes -Florence Court Kitchen Garden Volunteers.

LAKELAND VETERINARY BREEDING HEIFER DERBY ; Best Beef breeding heifer Non Pedigree - Kevin Leonard.

THE COLLUM JOHN GRAHAM MEMORIAL CUP; Vaughan Trust Suckler Cow Classic for the best Commercial Champion Non Pedigree Suckler Cow and Calf - David Henderson.