“Our shining stars of the future” is how the Verse Speaking and Own Poetry adjudicator described the young competitors at the Fermanagh Feis as the sections returned last week following a three-year hiatus due to the pandemic.

The sections ran very successfully from March 6 to 11 at St. Michael’s College, Enniskillen, with high entry numbers dominating the classes from P1 to P7.

Mrs. Eva Coffey from Dublin was this year’s adjudicator. Being highly experienced in her role as a Speech and Drama teacher/examiner, she commented regularly throughout the week on the high standard in both the Verse Speaking and Own Poetry sections, from P1 up to Fourth/Fifth Year level.

Throughout the Verse/Own Poetry section events, Mrs. Coffey warmly commended and praised all the competitors who came and participated.

She was continually praiseworthy of all efforts from competitors, through her detailed written comments and positive oral feedback at adjudication, calling all the competitors “our shining stars of the future”.

On her final day, Mrs. Coffey praised and thanked the supporting role of parents, teachers and the Feis Committee and volunteers in preparing and organising children for the event.

On behalf of the Feis Committee, Helen Cleary (Verse/Own Poetry Secretary) would like to sincerely thank St. Michael’s College for the use of its premises during the week.

She also expressed a special word of thanks to all the caretaking and cleaning staff for their hard work in ensuring the premises were ideal for welcoming the large audiences.

“Also thanks to all the Volunteer Feis personnel for helping make the event run smoothly, and who work as a great team despite being low in numbers.

“Anyone wishing to volunteer help in running the Feis sections, in the future, would be warmly welcomed,” added Helen.

Verse and Own Poetry results


P1 Girls

1st (joint): Ailbhe Fitzpatrick and Eabha Shannon; 2nd (joint): Niamh McHugh and Cassie Crawford; 3rd (joint): Emily Sizeland and Chloe McAttamney.

P1 Boys

1st: John Dunne; 2nd (joint): Finbar O’Neill-Cassidy and Seanie Snow; 3rd (joint): Oliver Campbell and Daire Quinn.

P2 Girls

1st: Meabh Quinn; 2nd (joint): Ailbhe King and Aria Doherty; 3rd (joint): Fianna Rafferty, Eve Williams and Carly McManus.

P2 Boys

1st: Traian Sandulean; 2nd (joint): Caolan Maguire and Eoin Clifford; 3rd: Fionnbharr Maguire.

P3 Girls

1st: Anna Kelly; 2nd (joint): Megan Black, Thea Johnston and Alice McKenna; 3rd (joint): Ruby Clarke, Grace Webb and Olivia McGrath.

P3 Boys

1st: Gavin Og Connolly; 2nd (joint): Hugh Maguire and Casey McCabe; 3rd (joint): Cory Payne, Donnacha O’Neill and Ronan Harte.

P4 Girls

1st (joint): Katie Donnelly and Ella Prior; 2nd (joint): Ellie-Rose Benson, Lucy Flannagan and Meabh Hamill; 3rd (joint): Jayne McAtee, Anna Fitzpatrick and Roisin Rice.

P4 Boys

1st: Tommy Mullarkey; 2nd (joint): George Waldie and Murray Collins; 3rd (joint): Jerome McDermott and Kyron McManus.

P5 Girls

1st (joint): Caitlin Landers and Aoife Higgins; 2nd (joint): Sophie Reilly, Fianna O’Reilly and Saoirse Carron; 3rd (joint): Ella Maguire, Lauren Irvine and Ellie McIvor.

P5 Boys

1st: Alfie McCordick; 2nd: Conor Carron; 3rd (joint): Finbar Gibson and Joey Harte.

P6 Girls

1st: Florence McGovern; 2nd (joint): Isabella Mathers and Holly Leonard; 3rd (joint): Ruby Whittaker, Charlotte Cadden and Cora McConnell.

P6 Boys

1st: Matteo Fitzpatrick; 2nd (joint): Oran McCaffrey and Killian Gallagher; 3rd: Charles Armstrong.

P7 Girls

1st: Fianna Mohan; 2nd (joint): Joanna Moore and Caoimhe McManus; 3rd (joint): Jordana McKiernan, Lara Brady and Ava Little.

P7 Boys

1st: Lorcan McManus; 2nd: Kayde Gormley; 3rd (joint): Pearse McElroy and Eoin Donaghy.

Primary Choral Verse

1st: Enniskillen Integrated PS; 2nd: Moat PS; 3rd: Tattygar PS.

Own Poetry

P4 and below

1st: Sorcha Shannon; 2nd (joint): Lucia McCabe and Lucia McCusker; 3rd: Bella Keaney.

Own Poetry P5

1st: Bella Law; 2nd: Clara Kelly and Caoimhe Duffy; 3rd (joint): Belle Magee and Sarah Dunne.

Own Poetry P6

1st: Eve McManus; 2nd: Sophia Hughes and Cahir Boyle; 3rd: Jensen Neary and Reilly Savva.

Own Poetry P7

1st: Lilly Traynor (Overall Own Poetry Bursary Winner); 2nd (joint): Sarah Reilly and Caolan Corrigan; 3rd (joint): Sarah McKeever and Oisin Kelly.

Post-Primary Own Poetry Year 8

1st: Tilly McGowan; 2nd: Evie Dundas; 3rd: Aine Gartlan.

Post-Primary Own Poetry Year 9

1st: Aisling Traynor; 2nd: Lilly Tunney; 3rd: Poppy O’Brien.

Post-Primary Own Poetry Year 10

1st: Shannon Campbell; 2nd: Meabh Hambly.

Post-Primary Year 11

1st: Grace Gilmurray.

Post-Primary Year 12

1st: Evie McGarry.

Bursary winners

Overall Primary: Tattygar PS.

Own Poetry: Lilly Traynor, P7 Holy Trinity PS.

Most Memorable Moment in Verse Section – Helen Lynam Memorial Cup: Moat PS.

Get a treat with our March sale - £3 for three months digital subscription. Click here to subscribe