There was big success for the runners of St. Michael’s as they secured four team gold medals at the E District Cross Country Championships at Necarne last Thursday.
The Blue Vests claimed victories in the Mini Boys, Junior Boys, Inter Boys and Senior Boys races as well as clinching silver in the Minor Boys race on another medal laden day for the school.
Among those successes were some fine individual performances with James Corry and Liam Corry taking silver and bronze in the Mini Boys and Rory Smyth coming home fourth in the same race.
In the Junior Boys Cormac McCauley won gold with Ruairi Moore taking bronze and there was bronze for Oisin Cassidy and Deabhan McGovern in the Inter Boys and Senior Boys respectively.
St. Michael’s were far from the only school though to enjoy success last Thursday.
Mount Lourdes clinched silver in the Mini Girls and went one better in the Minor Girls as they sealed the gold medal with Enniskillen Royal winning bronze.
Individually, Mount Lourdes Shannon Clawson had a top ten finish in the Mini Girls while in the Minor Girls there was a silver medal for ERGS Sophia Williams and bronze for Devenish College’s Ellie McDonald closely followed by a sextet of Mount Lourdes runners headed by Muireann Duffy and Anna Gillespie.
There was top ten finishes for Mount Lourdes duo Katie Donnelly and Aoife McCabe in the Junior Girls race and in to the Senior Girls race ERGS pair Caitlyn Fee and Zoe McCutcheon also claimed top ten places, coming home seventh and eighth respectively.