Kyran Maguire claimed the Mens Singles and Doubles titles at the Fermanagh Open at the Bawnacre on what proved to be a successful week for the Irvinestown player.
Maguire had began the week competing at the ITF Windsor event and a win over a Polish opponent saw him pick up world ranking points with a three set victory.
Full of confidence, the young player returned home for the Fermanagh Open where he took the Men’s Singles crown with victory over Stephen O’Shea from Monkstown in the final and he wrapped up a wonderful week by also claiming the U18 West of Ulster Junior Championship title held at Enniskillen Tennis Club.
And there were a number of other locals who enjoyed success in the sunshine at the Bawnacre last weekend.
The Fermanagh Open Tennis Tournament, sponsored by Flogas and Manor House Country Hotel and supported by Fermanagh and Omagh District Council, was held in superb weather conditions. Players enjoyed the brand new courts which are a great addition to the Tennis Club and a magnificent draw for all the visiting players.
There were a number of marathon matches held under very hot conditions during the week, but players coped admirably. All players and visitors were looked after all week by George Beacom and his team at the Bawnacre Centre. Also during the week, in a break in play, a very special presentation was made to a longstanding friend of Irvinestown Lawn Tennis Club. Stephen Cuthbertson from Omagh LTC who was presented with Life Membership of ILTC, in recognition of his selection to the Irish team and his special relationship with Irvinestown Lawn Tennis Club. Tournament Director, John Maguire, paid tribute to Stephen for his continued support of the tennis club, going back to when play first took place of the old courts at St Mary’s school.
Finals day brought a bit of relief from the very sunny conditions and played started early in the morning. Local players won a number of titles – in the main draw, the A singles title was won for the first time by Kyran Maguire. With his partner Francis Venzon from Butt Hall, Kyran also won the A Men’s Doubles. Other Irvinestown winners included Frances Taggart in the B Ladies Singles. There was a fabulous match in the B Ladies Doubles between the talented pairing of Lisa Greaves from Enniskillen and Andrea Irvine from Irvinestown who won the title in a very tight match against Castlebar Ladies Bernie Burke and Sinead Gavin. Andrea and Lisa did the double as they had also won the Enniskillen tournament back in May – a very successful partnership. Another great partnership saw Donal Burns and Frances Taggart retain the B Mixed title – a great result for them. Enniskillen members Clive Funston and Roger Howe went one step further this year and won the B Doubles titles after finishing runners-up last year. Another Enniskillen pairing of Nick Hambly and Barry Hughes were successful in the C Mens Doubles. It was an all Irvinestown final in the C Mens Singles with title holder Liam Murphy taking on new promising member Paul Hynes but Liam retained his title by winning 4/6 6/4 10/7.
During the afternoon, representatives from the sponsors joined the rest of the spectators to watch play. These included Paul Ruegg from Flogas, John Dolan from Manor House Country Hotel and Cllr Diana Armstrong from Fermanagh and Omagh District Council. The club were also delighted to welcome the President of Ulster Branch Tennis Ireland Gregg O’Rawe who also helped presenting the prizes.
During the presentations, George Beacom, Manager of the Bawnacre paid tribute to all the sponsors who attended and to the players for taking part. He also thanked the tournament organisers and the President of Ulster Branch, Tennis Ireland who attended and showed support for the tournament. In reply, the Tournament Director, John Maguire thanked his committee for their support and all the players who regularly come along to support this and other events. Irvinestown LTC looks forward to future tournaments including the Junior event in August and Veterans Tournament in September.
A Mens’ Singles
Winner -Kyran Maguire, Irv, Runner-up - Stephen O’Shea, Monkstown
A Ladies Singles
Winner – Aoifin Shorten, Sligo Runner-up – Nikki Hawkes, Omagh
A Ladies Doubles
Winners - Nikki Hawkes, Omagh, Donna McSorley, Irv
Runners-up – Noreen Cassidy, Aoifin Shorten, Sligo
A Mens’ Doubles
Winners – Francis Venzon, Butt Hall, Kyran Maguire, Irv
Runners- up – Michael Blease, Windsor, Ross McCarey, Downshire
A Mixed Doubles
Winners – Francis Venzon, Elaine Chambers, Butt Hall
Runners-up – Colin Waterson, Emma Black, Hilden
B Mens’ Singles
Winner – Mateusz Lach, Longford, Runner-up Scott Hubbard, Enniskillen
B Mens’ Doubles
Winners – Clive Funston, Roger Howe, Ekn Runners up – Marcin Juszczyk, Mateusz Lach, Longford
B Ladies Singles
Winner – Frances Taggart, Irv Runner-up – Mary Cuthbertson, Omagh
B Ladies Doubles
Winners – Andrea Irvine, Irvinestown, Lisa Greaves, Ekn
Runners-up – Sinead Gavin, Bernie Burke, Castlebar
B Mixed Doubles
Winners – Donal Burns, Frances Taggart, Ekn
Runners-up – Scott Hubbard, Ekn, Ellen Casey, Kells
C Mens’ Singles
Winner – Liam Murphy, Irvinestown Runner-up – Paul Hynes, Irvinestown
C Ladies Singles
Winner – Leslie Campbell, Ekn Runner-up – Olivia Seery, Sligo
C Mens’ Doubles
Winners – Nick Hambly, Barry Hughes, Ekn Runners-up – Denis Daly, Sligo, Paul Hynes, Irv
C Ladies Doubles
Winners – Ita Bonner, Pauline McAleer, Omagh
Runners-up – Wendy Eaton, Catherine Taggart, Irvinestown
C Mixed Doubles
Winners – David Grainger, Ita Bonner, Omagh Runners-up – Ryan Edgar, Irv, Maxine Leary, Ekn
Plate Prizes
A Mens’ Doubles Plate
Winners – Conor Donaldson, John Slowey, Ekn
Runners up – Stephen Cuthbertson, Omagh, Colin Waterson, Hilden
B Mens’ Singles Plate
Winner – Ken Yang, Ekn Runner-up- Mark Connolly, Omagh
B Ladies Singles Plate
Winner – Kirsty Murray, Irv. Runner-up – Elvira Custodio, Butt Hall
B Ladies Doubles Plate
Winners - Maeve Coney, Mary Cuthbertson, Omagh
Runners-up – Kathleen Maguire, Kirsty Murray, Irv
B Mixed Doubles Plate
Winners – Stephen & Mary Cuthbertson, Omagh
Runners Up – Ollie McShea, Brenda Davis, Enniskillen
C Ladies Doubles Plate
Winner – Kate Heaver, Carol Maguire, Irv Runners-up – Leslie Campbell, Maxine Leary, Ekn
C Mixed Plate
Winners – Anthony Cunnane, Olivia Seery, Sligo
Runners-up Marc O’Connor, Irv, Leslie Campbell, Ekn