Tiernach Mahon has been appointed to the National Referees’ Development Committee by new President Larry McCarthy.

Mahon, who was previously the Ulster Referees Co-ordinator, was one of the President’s selections for the committee.

“The aim is to develop referees from youth level right up to the championship elite squad. We would look after their development, their training and their pathway from youth right through to refereeing in an All Ireland final, “said Mahon.

The committee is chaired by Sean Martin from Roscommon and includes Marty Duffy, Michael Wadding, Michelle Bennett, John Fitzpatrick and Pat Horan as well as representatives from each of the provinces and from Camogie and Ladies Football.