The Lisnaskea 10K Fun Run and Walk proved to be a great success in the glorious summer sunshine as elite runners and fun runners mixed in to make for a great community event.

Local runners were very much to the fore with Enniskillen Running Club’s Stephen Cassidy first home in the men’s open category while Tara Malone took the ladies’ equivalent.

A large crowd had gathered for the start at the Castle Park Centre as Councilor Paul Robinson of Fermanagah and Omagh District Council and Rosemary Forde of Upper Lough Erne Tourism Development Association (ULETDA) set the run under way.

The organisers stated: “We had fantastic support from the local community who came out to marshal junctions and help with setting up water stops.

The Mad Dogs biker club once again volunteered their time to marshal the course and the PSNI also provided several officers who ensured the event ran safely at a very busy time in the town. The Donn Carragh Hotel had some tasty treats for the returning competitors and Lisa McCabe provided her sports masseuse services complimentary, which was very much appreciated by some of the tired legs following the run.” ULETDA would like to thank Fermanagh and Omagh District Council for their sponsorship, the staff of the Castle Park Center who were a tremendous help to the organisers and to everyone who helped out and made the event a success including the competitors for coming out to support our local event.

Lisnaskea 10k Results 2015 Women’s Open - 1st - Tara Malone, Enniskillen; 2nd - Donna Evans, Monaghan; 3rd - Paula Donnelly, Brookeborough.

U19 Woman’s - 1st - Gabriele Aleknaviciute, Fivemiletown; 2nd - Honor Irvine, Lisbellaw; 3rd - Keeva Lynch, Lisnaskea.

Over 50 Woman’s - 1st - Sandra Wilson, Lisnaskea; 2nd - Vivenne Kells, Maguiresbridge; 3rd - Henrietta Fawcett, Maguiresbridge.

Men’s Open - 1st – Stephen Cassidy, Irvinestown; 2nd – Shane Brady, Monaghan; 3rd – Gregory Murphy, Lisnaskea.

U19 Men’s - 1st – Ryan Flanagan, Derrylin; 2nd – Joshua Kennedy, Lisnaskea; 3rd – Jack McDaid, Lisnaskea.

Over 50 Men’s - 1st – Dessie Elton, Lisbellaw; 2nd – Anthony Green, Derrygonnelly; 3rd – Martin Carey, Lisnaskea.