The Coa Singles was held over six nights of play plus a final night with an increase of almost 53 bowlers on last year’s competition.

Indeed, it was so popular that Patricia the secretary had to turn away 20-25 bowlers. The bowlers came from Western, Donegal, Monaghan, Tyrone, Armagh and Lisburn.

18 bowlers qualified for the finals night with W. Boggs, Ardstraw beating R. Armstrong, Christchurch 7-4 and G. Burke, Wellington beating S. McGlinchey, Kildress 7-4 in the two preliminary games.

In the next round W. Boggs beat G. Burke 9-7, I. Armstrong, Wellington beat N. Lyons, St. Mary’s 8-2, W. McClean, Clogherney beat P. Boyle, St. Mary’s 6-4, P J McCrossan, Drumquin beat P. Garvary, Tullysaren 11-4, D. Wilson, Kilskeery beat J. Rutledge, Sixmilecross 9-4, K. McAloon, Mullaghdun beat D. Ferguson, Devenish 11-5, G. McNabb, Trory beat G. Brian, Magheracross 9-8 and N. Noble, Wellington beat J. Morris, St. Michael’s 8-7.

Now at the quarter final stages, it was an all-Wellington affair with N. Noble just narrowly beating I. Armstrong 9-8, G. McNabb dominated his game throughout by beating W. McClean 11-3; P. J. McCrossan kept his game tight against D. Wilson beating him 9-3 and W. Boggs went into his final end 7-4 up against K. McAloon, running out a comfortable winner.

The semi final was now set with P. J. McCrossan playing G. McNabb and W. Boggs playing N. Noble. Both games proved to be very tight with excellent bowls played by all concerned.

P. J. McCrossan picked up a single shot in the last end of his game to win 9-8 against Gary and in the other semi final Norman was only able to pick up a single in his last end to narrowly lose 7-8 to W. Boggs.

The final was now between P. J. McCrossan and W. Boggs; after the first two ends P. J. was 3-0 up, in the third end W. Boggs picked up a single and in the fourth and fifth ends both players picked up a single shot each. After five ends played, P, J, was 4-2 up; over the course of the next four ends played, P. J. completely dominated the game, running out the winner by a scoreline at 10-2.

At the conclusion, thanks was given to the ladies for a very welcome cup of tea each night of play, the club members who helped to mark the games, the umpires Tony and Benny, the sponsors and the valued help that Patricia the secretary received from her assistant secretary Brendan Donnelly.

The Chairman, Mr. Jimmy Murphy, was asked to come forward to present prizes to the beaten finalists and to present the Johnny Tummon Cup along with the prize to P. J. McCrossan, this year’s winner of Coa Singles.

The charity chosen this year by the club is Brainwaves who will receive a cheque from the funds raised during the tournament.