Saturday at Castle Hume brought the annual Captain’s Day, a day that many a golfer looks forward to with great anticipation at aiming to win the season’s ‘big one’. This year, Captain Sean Henry welcomed over 120 golfers to Castle Hume, members, guests, ladies and gents. 
With some trying conditions weather-wise, this did not seem to affect the magnificent scoring at all and it turned out to be a very close run race. Coming on top this year was Gareth Kennedy with a superb score of 41 points playing of a handicap of 17. Gareth’s round got off to a nervy start where he opened with a double bogey and a bogey but this was quickly followed by a run of five pars in seven holes and this quickly got things back on track for him where he finished the front nine with 20 points. On the back nine, Gareth again produced some very steady golf. He started with a birdie 3 on the par 4 10th hole and despite a double bogey six on the 15th hole, a mixture of bogeys and pars enabled Gareth to finish the back nine with 21 points and giving him a superb score of 41 points. Congratulations to Gareth on this memorable victory. 
Close behind in second place was Kieran McGrath with 40 points courtesy of a better back nine holes from Philip Long who also had 40 points and was able to take third place. 
In fourth place was Jason Kilfedder with 40 points. The gross prize was won by Richard Moore with a superb round of two over par and 34 gross points. The past Captains prize was won by Albert Connor with 37 points and the committee prize was won by Joe Woods with 35 points. The prize for best team captain went to Peter Clifford with 39 points. The front nine prize was won by Dermot Love with 22 points and the back nine prize was won by Robbie Benson also with 22 points. 
Nearest to the pin was won by Ronan McSherry and longest drive went to Paul McCarney. 
In the ladies section, Julie Blair produced a winning score of 71 nett to take first place. In second was Margaret Graydon with 72 nett and third place went to Lady Captain Carmel Stevenson with 73 nett. 
The two person scramble was won by Nigel O’Connor and Darryl Humphries with 60.25 and second place went to Graham Veitch and Tom Grimsley with 61. There were 13 Two’s. A special thanks must go to Kevin Nolan and his green keeping staff who had the golf course in fantastic condition, as to Roy, Jeanette, Angelo and their respective teams in the bar, restaurant and kitchen who provided the outstanding service from beginning to end with food and drink.
On the team news front, best of luck goes to the Irish Fourball team who will now play Blacklion in the Quarter finals. Commiserations go to the Ulster Cup team who were narrowly beaten.
The time sheet for this year’s Lakeland Open is in place at Enniskillen Golf Club and all bookings to be made via contacting the golf shop on 02866 325250.