The Fermanagh Open Tennis Tournament, sponsored by Flogas and the Manor House Country Hotel, reached its climax on Sunday at the Bawnacre Centre in Irvinestown. There were entries from over 100 players in this popular tournament run by Irvinestown Lawn Tennis Club and there was to be local success including Irvinestown’s John Maguire who teamed up with Francis Venzon to win the Mens A Doubles title.

The presentation of prizes took place on Sunday evening and was attended by representatives of the sponsors – Claire Anderson from Manor House Country Hotel and Anthony Mulligan from Flogas. Many of the players had remained for the presentation to show their support for the winners and runners-up.

Mary McCoy, Club Captain, thanked the players for participating and paid special thanks to Fermanagh District Council for the use of the courts and to George Beacom and all the staff of the Bawnacre for the way they looked after everyone during the tournament. She also thanked those who bought tickets for the raffle and all who attended the tournament dinner at the Manor House Country Hotel.

George Stevenson, President of Ulster Branch Tennis Ireland attended and thanked John Maguire, Tournament Director and all the organising committee for their hard work in the run-up and during the tournament. George and his wife have attended this tournament on other occasions and always look forward to meeting up with tennis colleagues in Fermanagh.

Tournament Director and Club President John Maguire thanked all the players for coming along, especially those who had travelled some distance. He also paid tribute to the committee including Tournament Referee Pete Keogh and everyone else who assisted – David McDowell, Laura McDowell, Tanya Cathcart, Kate Heaver and Mary McCoy.

The prizes were presented to all the winners and runners-up and as is usual, the winner of the Mens A Singles, Karl Donaldson from ATT, was asked to speak on behalf of all the players. Karl was playing in his first Fermanagh Open. He was delighted with the welcome received in Irvinestown and paid tribute to all the other players and paid special thanks to Irvinestown Lawn Tennis Club.

It was once again a very successful tournament with a number of local winners. These included Donal Burns from Enniskillen who along with his partner Martin Fryer, City of Derry, took the Mens B Doubles title by beating Innes Redmond and Davy Thompson from Enniskillen.

Two other local players were runners-up in the B Ladies Doubles – Andrea Irvine from Irvinestown and Martina Boyd from Enniskillen were narrowly defeated by Lorna Reynolds and Anne McGrath from Letterkenny. The B Mixed Doubles final was contested by an all Enniskillen quartet with Ollie McShea and Martina Boyd coming out on top against John Ross Dundas and Vanessa McBrien. In the C Men’s Doubles, two Irvinestown pairings came head to head with Brendan King and Brendan McGuinness taking the title against Gerry McLoughlin and Steve Beaumont.

Tanya Cathcart and Catherine Taggart from Irvinestown were runner-up in the C Ladies Doubles and there was a runners-up spot for Brendan King and Joanne Daly in the C Mixed Doubles.

The Plate events provided more success for Wendy Eaton and Mary McCoy in the Ladies Doubles and there was double success for the talented Ryan Irvine from Irvinestown who won the B Mens Singles Plate and the B Mens Doubles with David McDowell. The longstanding partnership of Donna McSorley and Maggie Britton helped give them victory in the A Ladies Doubles against Louise McGann and Sonja Hateboer from Enniskillen.