Enniskillen’s Laura Griffin and Irvinestown’s Liam Murphy were among the local winners as the Fermanagh Open came to a conclusion on Sunday.

Laura defeated Irvinestown’s Donna McSorley to claim the A Ladies Singles title while Murphy lifted the C Mens Singles crown as Finals Day for the Fermanagh Open brought one of the best days of the tournaments. Wimbledon may just be about to start but the courts in Irvinestown have already experienced some exciting matches. Sponsored by Flogas and Manor House Country Hotel, the event attracted over 90 players both from neighbouring counties and further afield. The event was delighted to welcome Mr George Stevenson, President of Ulster Branch Tennis Ireland who assisted in presenting the prizes along with Mr John Dolan from the Manor House Country Hotel and Anthony Mulligan representing Flogas. In fact on Saturday morning, the club had a surprise visit from Mr Clifford Carroll who arrived to meet club officials and players in his official role as President of Tennis Ireland.

As usual Tournament Director John Maguire did a sterling job in scheduling the matches ably assisted by his tournament committee. George Beacom and his staff from the Bawnacre were on hand with refreshments and ensured that everyone availed of a strawberries and ice cream treat.

The first final to be decided was the C Ladies Singles in which Denise Espey from Butt Hall was triumphant in this Round Robin event with Anne Louise Hicks from Omagh as runner-up.

In the B Ladies singles, Omagh player Mary Cuthbertson took on Kathleen Maguire from Irvinestown. Both players showed great endurance and many rallies with Mary winning 6-2 6-3. One of the most popular singles winners was Irvinestown’s Liam Murphy who won his first ever Open title in the C Mens Singles.

After dropping the first set against Ken Yang from Enniskillen, he went to win the next two sets 6-2 6-2. As well as the title, Liam also won the Player of the Week prize, a coveted prize decided by the Tournament Director in recognition of special achievement by a player throughout the week.

In some of the doubles events, there was also success for many local players. Alan Cadden and Kirsty Murray from Irvinestown won the C Mixed and then Kirsty did the double by winning the C Ladies Doubles with partner Wendy Eaton. Further success for Irvinestown came in the B Ladies Doubles with aunty and niece Joanne Daly and Frances Taggart winning this title. The A Ladies Doubles title was also won by an Irvinestown pairing of Donna McSorley and Louise Conway who is improving with every outing. Success came to Enniskillen players as well with Laura Griffin clinching the A Ladies Singles title and Donal Burns from Enniskillen taking the B Mixed title with partner Frances Taggart from Irvinestown.

At the presentation of the prizes, Club President thanked the sponsors, Flogas and Manor House Country Hotel for their sponsorship and also Fermanagh and Omagh District Council. He also reminded players that next year, the club should have their new courts by then which would be most welcome. George Stevenson, President of Tennis Ireland, said he was delighted to attend and made special mention of John Maguire’s achievement in getting selected to represent Ireland in Miami in the Over 55 Tennis Championships in October. Presentations were also made to Tournament Referree David McDowell and all those who assisted during the tournament – Laura McDowell, Kate Heaver, Tanya Cathcart and Club Captain Mary McCoy.

Check out impartialreporter.com/sport/ for the full list of winners and runners up.

FINAL RESULTS A Mens Singles – winner Karl Donaldson, Belfast runner up Michael Blease, Belfast A Ladies Singles – winner Laura Griffin, Ekn, runner up Donna McSorley, Irv A Ladies Doubles – winners Louise Conway, Donna McSorley, Irv, runners-up Nikki Hawkes, Omagh, Andrea Irvine, Irv A Mens Doubles – winners Paul Calvert, Karl Donaldson, Belfast, runners-up Michael Blease, Ross McCarey A Mixed – winners Mark Smyth, Omagh, Donna McSorley, Irv, runners-up Jared Monaghan, Laura Griffin Ekn.

B Mens Singles – winner Robert Thompson, Butt Hall, runner-up Matthew Duffy, Ekn B Ladies Singles – winner Mary Cuthbertson, Omagh, runner-up Kathleen Maguire, Irv B Mens Doubles – winners Stephen Cuthbertson, Omagh, Robert Thompson, Butt Hall, runners-up Clive Funston, Roger Howe, Ekn B Ladies Doubles – winners Joanne Daly, Frances Taggart, Irv, runners-up Andrea Irvine, Irv, Vanessa McBrien, Ekn B Mixed – winners Donal Burns, Ekn, Frances Taggart, Irv, runners-up Colin Waterson, Lisa Greaves, Ekn C Mens Singles – winner Liam Murphy, Irv, runner-up Ken Yang, Ekn C Ladies Singles – winner Denise Espey, Butt Hall, runner-up Anne Louise Hicks, Omagh C Ladies Doubles – winners Kirsty Murray, Wendy Eaton, Irv, runners-up Ita Bonner, Pauline McAleer, Omagh C Mens Doubles – winners Brendan King, David Lowe, Irv, runners-up Barry Hughes, Ken Yang, Ekn C Mixed – winners Alan Cadden, Kirsty Murray, Irv, runners-up John King, Pauline McAleer, Omagh PLATE RESULTS A Mens Singles, winner Will Boyd, Windsor, runner-up Steven McDowell A Mens Doubles, winners Will Boyd, Steven McDowell, runners-up Ben Cree, Jared Monaghan, B Mens Singles, winner Freddie Lusson, Butt Hall, runner-up David Lowe, Irv B Mixed, winners Stephen Cuthbertson, Omagh, Joanne Daly, Irv, runners-up Brendan Duffy, Liz McGuinness, Ekn C Mens Singles, winner Kenny Hicks, Omagh, runner-up Mark Connolly, Omagh C Doubles, winners Alan Cadden, Irv, Mark Connolly Omagh C Mixed – winners Andris Stebers and Catherine McManus, Ekn, runners-up Denis Daly, Sligo, Maxine Leary, Ekn