There was a great show of talent from local young at the ‘Verse Speaking’ and ‘Own Poetry’ Sections of this year’s Fermanagh Feis.

Taking place at St. Michael’s College, Enniskillen from April 4 to 9, the sections were adjudicated by Irene Burke, a highly experienced Speech and Drama teacher and examiner from Dublin. Throughout the week, Mrs. Burke commented on the high standard of the performances across the age categories in both the Verse Speaking and Own Poetry sections.

Warmly commending all the competitors, Mrs. Burke was praiseworthy of their efforts, offering detailed written and oral feedback at adjudication. On her final day, Mrs. Burke praised and thanked the supporting role of parents, teachers and the Feis Committee and volunteers in preparing and organising children and young people for the event. The results of the Verse and Own Poetry Sections are as follow:

Primary Verse Speaking winners

P1 Girls - 1st Emilie Donnelly, 2nd Edie Cassels/Caitlin Landers, 3rd Cara McLoughlin/Aoife Higgins

P1 Boys - 1st Fionn Collins, 2nd Arthur McManus, 3rd Micheal Prunty/Danny Boylan

P2 Girls - 1st Maggie McLoughlin/Eva-Rose McCluskey, 2nd Jessica Wills/Cori McConnell, 3rd Crea Mullen/Lara Waters

P2 Boys - 1st Daithi King, 2nd, Jake McCauley, 3rd Oran McCaffrey/Ethan McIntyre/Aiden Gormley

P3 Girls - 1st Eva Donnelly, 2nd Emily Jordan/Aimee McAllister, 3rd Ellena Campbell/Caoimhe McDermott

P3 Boys - 1st Oliver Stewart, 2nd Conor Gilleece, 3rd Kadye Gormley/Conan Bradley-West

P4 Girls - 1st Ella–Bleu Sandilands, 2nd Lily Rose McIntyre/Eireann McCann, 3rd Emily Creevy/Aine Rice

P4 Boys - 1st Eli Irvine, 2nd Oisin Gunn/J.P. McIntyre 3rd Cormac King/Darragh Prunty

P5 Girls - 1st Tilly Richardson, 2nd Grainne Gallagher/Caoimhe Gartland, 3rd Emma O’Brien/Holly Geoghghan

P5 Boys - 1st Sidney Mason, 2nd William Lyons, 3rd Patrick Toal

P6 Girls - 1st Kate McDade, 2nd Ellie McKeown/Emma McManus, 3rd Niamh McCabe/ Emer McAllister

P6 Boys - 1st Jack McKeever, 2nd Callum Noble/Jamaes Gilleece 3rd Lewis Maguire/Patrick O’Sullivan

P7 Girls - 1st Aoife Geogaghan, 2nd Cara McManus/Caitlin McGee, 3rd Imogen Knight/Yolanda Brannigan

P7 Boys - 1st James Kelly, 2nd Conor Rice, 3rd Ben Reilly/Liam Gilheaney. Primary Quick Study Prose - 1st Ronan Morris, 2nd Conor Rice, 3rd Clodagh Donnelly

Primary Sight Reading -1st Ronan Morris, 2nd Taylor McKeever, 3rd Conor Rice

Primary Choral Verse - 1st Enniskillen Integrated Primary School, 2nd Tattygar Primary School, 3rd Model Primary School

Helen Lynam Cup for Most Memorable Moment - Enniskillen Integrated Primary School

Post-Primary Verse Speaking winners

Year 8/9 Girls - 1st Shannon Clawson, 2nd Maria Toal, 3rd Grainne Duffy

Year 8/9 Boys - 1st Jack Maguire

Year 11/12 Girls - 1st Lucy Toal

Year 11/12 Boys - 1st Fen Columb-Hallewell

Post-primary Quick Study Prose - 1st Lucy Toal, 2nd Anna Toal, 3rd Leah Irwin

Post-primary Sight Reading - 1st Lucy Toal, 2nd Leah Irwin

Choice of Seamus Heaney poem -1st Maria Toal, 2nd Anna Toal, 3rd Eoin Knight/Lucy Toal

Own Poetry winners

Primary Own Poetry P4 and below - 1st Shanna-Jo Cadden, 2nd Grace McGrath/Evie Dundas, 3rd Anna Gilmurray/Fearghal Cassidy

Primary Own Poetry P5 - 1st Ellie McKenna, 2nd Patrick Toal, 3rd Aideen McDonnell

Primary Own Poetry P6 - 1st Emilia McGeoghan, 2nd Holly James/Casey McGovern, 3rd Naiara Elechosa/Eimear McKenna

Primary Own Poetry P7 - 1st Caitlin McGee, 2nd Mia O’Reilly, 3rd Ellen Smith

Post- Primary Own Poetry Year 8 - 1st Ella Prior James, 2nd Eva Johnston, 3rd Tianna Mulholland

Post- Primary Own Poetry Year 9 - 1st Grace Acheson, 2nd Amy McEvoy

Post- Primary Own Poetry Year 11+ - 1st Keilan Colville, 2nd Fen Columb-Hallewell, 3rd Ben Kelly

Bursary winners

Overall Key Stage One Bursary winner - Eli Irvine

Overall Key Stage Two Bursary winner - Aoife Geogaghan

Overall Post-Primary Bursary winner - Maria Tole.

Overall Own Poetry Bursary winner - Keilan Colville