Sinn Féin have lost a second seat in Fermanagh as Debbie Coyle failed to be re-elected in Enniskillen.

It is a former Sinn Féin party member who will take her place in the new Fermanagh and Omagh District Council. 

Donal O Cofaigh of the Cross-Party Labour Alternative was elected on the seventh count along with Sinn Féin's Tommy Maguire.

Mr. O Cofaigh, a vocal health campaigner in the area, was a Councillor in the old Fermanagh District Council. 

During his cofirmation speech, Mr. O Cofaigh paid tribute to Trevor Armstrong, Caroline Wheeler, John McCluskey and Emmet McAleer, Independents who were candidates in this year's elections standing on local issues such as health and goldmining in the Sperrins.

He added that we do not have to continue to head towards further division in his speech. 

Sinn Féin's Tommy Maguire paid tribute to Debbie Coyle is his acceptance speech.

For full roundup of the elections pick up The Impartial Reporter on Thursday for more analysis and round up.