The Fermanagh Feis has returned this year following a brief hiatus due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The annual festival celebrating young talent across the sections of Art and Design, Classical Music, Irish Dancing, Irish Language, Traditional Music and Verse started on March 4 and will run until March 13.

Over the weekend, there was a great array of musical talent as the Traditional Music section took place at St. Michael’s College in Enniskillen on Saturday, March 4 and Sunday, March 5.

Traditional musicians, husband and wife Cian and Niamh Kearins, adjudicated the section.

Niamh is a concertina player from Co. Dublin. She has toured both Ireland and Britain with Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Éireann’s, Macalla na hÉireann.

In 2012, Niamh became the first concertina player from Dublin to win the coveted senior concertina competition at Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann in Cavan. Cian is a flute/whistle player and singer/lilter, living in Dublin but originally hailing from Co. Sligo.

An All-Ireland Champion in flute, tin whistle, singing and lilting on numerous occasions at Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann, he is a regular performer, tutor and adjudicator at festivals and workshops around the country.

Cian and Niamh have produced several successful CCÉ concert tours of Ireland, Britain, America and Canada over the past number of years.

Sinead Crudden, Fermanagh Feis Traditional Music section secretary, said: “The Traditional Music section was a great success and all parents were delighted to see its return after a three-year break.

“As secretary, I thank St. Michael’s for the use of its building, and also Marcus and Martin for all their help in getting the halls open and ready.

“We were blown away by the talent and confidence in the children competing and it’s safe to say that music is indeed in safe hands with the youth coming through.

“Well done to all the children that partook in the Feis, and keep up the good work!”

Sinead also thanked the children’s parents for supporting the Feis and promoting traditional music, adding: “Your time and dedication does not go unnoticed.”

Traditional Music results were as follows.

Tin Whistle

U-9 (Confined): 1, Saoirse Rooney; 2, Niamh McPhillips; 3, Molly Duffy and Caitlin McManus.

U-9 (Open): 1, Marie McCabe; 2, Aoibhinn McBrien; 3, Leah Tynan and Caoise Fitzpatrick.

9-12 (Confined): 1, Daithí Ó Maonaile; 2, Blaithnaid Rooney and Grace Keenan; 3, Danielle Traynor.

9-12 (Open): 1, Daithí Ó Maonaile; 2, Éanna Redden; 3, Emma Keyes.

12-15: 1, Óisin McGrath; 2, Micheál McGrath; 3, Jack McMahon.


U-9: 1, Mary McCaffrey; 2, Pearce Traynor; 3, Niamh McPhillips.

9-12: 1, Sarah McKeever; 2, Daire Dunne and Orla Keown; 3, Dearbhla Quinn.

12-15: 1, Ciara O Donnell; 2, Olivia O Donnell; 3, Ella Whitley.

15+: 1, Seánna Donohoe; 2, Conor Traynor.

Button Accordion

U-9: 1, Tommy Mullarkey; 2, Connla Keown and Anna McGovern; 3, Aaron Faux.

U-12: 1, Thomas O Loughlin; 2, Thomas McCabe.

12-15: 1, Aodhan O Donnell; 2, Conor McAleer; 3, Ronan McElhill.

Traditional Song in English

U-9: 1, Aoibhinn McBrien; 2, Emma O’Reilly; 3, Eabha Gorby and Niamh McBrien.

9-12: 1, Áva Donohoe; 2, Lucy Mullarkey.

12-15: 1, Ronan McElhill; 2, Lily Callaghan.

Traditional Song in Irish

U-9: 1, Caoise Fitzpatrick.


9-12: 1, Cara Heaney; 2, Leah Tynan.

12-15: 1, Jack McMahon; 2, Caoileann McElholm; 3, Aisling Murray.

15+: 1, Blaithín Ní Mhaonaile.

Piano Accordion

9-12: 1, Áva Donohoe; 2, Neesa Ferguson.


U-12: 1, Daithí Ó Maonaile; 2, Blaithnaid Rooney.

12-15: 1, Cassie Brady; 2, James Gilleece; 3, Jack Keenan and Conor McAleer.

15+: 1, Seánna Donohoe.


U-12: 1, Conor Gilleece.


U-12: 1, Áva Donohoe; 2, Blaithnaid Rooney; 3, Sorcha Killen.

12-15: 1, Sean McAleer; 2, Conor McAleer; 3, Sadhbh Níc Dhomhnaill.


12-15: 1, Olivia and Ciara O Donnell; 2, Sean McAleer and Ella Whitley; 3, Micheál and Oisín McGrath, Darragh and Conor Traynor.


12-15: 1, Olivia, Ciara and Aodhan O Donnell; 2, Sean and Conor McAleer and Ella Whitley.

Ceili Band

15+: 1, St. Kevin’s College Lisnaskea.


U-12: 1, James McCabe; 2, James O Rourke; 3, Daniel McCormick.

12-15: 1, Oisin McGrath; 2, James Gilleece.

15+: 1, Oisin Ó Maonaile; 2, Seánna Donohoe; 3, Dáire McKenna.


U-12: 1, Saoirse Rooney; 2, Caoimhe McMackin.

12-15: 1, Sean McAleer; 2, Ceara Ní Mhaonaile.