Last month, Erne Highland Dancers based in Enniskillen hosted their first Highland Dancing Competition.

The venue on October 28 was St. Macartin’s Cathedral Hall right in the heart of Enniskillen, a prime location and perfect for the occasion.

The dance tutor, volunteers, and committee members of Erne Highland Dancers worked tirelessly behind the scenes in the run up to this event to ensure all visiting competitors and their families had an enjoyable experience.

The hall was decorated with bunting, balloons and signage offering a warm welcome.

In the main foyer was a craft table full of handmade jewellery, teddy bears, keyrings, and pictures to name a few, made by talented members of Erne Highland Dancers.

A coffee bar provided hot snacks and the most delicious homemade sweet treats throughout the course the day.

The doors opened at 9.00am to competitors from Northern Ireland, Co. Donegal and as far away as Aberdeenshire in the highlands of Scotland.

Almost 80 competitive dancers aged five to adults took to the boards to showcase their talents before the judge Marion Clowe, who made the journey from Dublin to adjudicate for the day.

The skirl of the pipes filled the air as onlookers watched the dancers compete in highland and national dances.

At the close of the competition medal placings were awarded to the competitors and trophies to the overall winner and runners up in each section.

A spokeswoman for Erne Highland Dancers wished to gratefully acknowledge all those who made it possible to host this competition.

She said: “Special thanks to Fermanagh and Omagh District Council for their support before and during the day, St. Macartin’s Cathedral for the use of their hall, to those who sponsored trophies and all volunteers who assisted in any way Erne Highland Dancers are very thankful.

“Against stiff competition all the girls from Erne Highland Dancers did the dance group proud, all bringing home medals to add to their collections, we are especially delighted to have some of our girls awarded trophy winners in their respective categories, namely; Kathryn Thompson, Kaela Johnston, Rachel Creddin, Evie Bowes, Rebecca Sheridan, Carly Graham, and Hannah Creddin.”