Trory Bowling Club held their annual pair’s tournament this season with the impressive Sam Carson Memorial Cup up for grabs. Eight pairs were welcome back to the final out of a total entry of 80 pairs.

In the first of the quarter final play offs, Wellington’s Ivor Armstrong/Alan Graham overcome Joan and Raymond Porter from Mountjoy 7–1, Colin Shortt/Trevor Vance (Clogherney) beat Ian Jordan/David Dickson 6-2, Jean Parkinson/Jean Carson beat Gladys and Billy Brown (Florencecourt) 9–3 and Karol Bradshaw/Niall Cox beat Derek Kerr/Paul Wilson 12-3.

The two semi final’s took place immediately after the quarter-finals with Ivor and Alan losing one shot in the first end against Colin and Trevor and after the third end played the Wellington pair had swung the game in their favour at four shots to one up. But the Tyrone pair immediately got back into the game by claiming three shots in the fourth end to leave it all level at four shots apiece. However, in the remaining three ends Ivor and Alan took a clear lead to book their place in the final. In the other semi final the two Jean’s were four nil up after two ends played, Karol and Niall picked up a single in the third end and the ladies then picked up a single in the fourth end Over the next three ends Karol and Niall got five shots to leave it six to five in their favour going into the last end. With all to play for Niall played an outstanding last bowl with shot lying against him to take the shot out and turn the game in their favour by lying three shots.

The final got off to a good start for Karol and Niall with four ends played they were 5-0 up before the Wellington pair collected two shots in the fifth end. During the next two ends Karol and Niall gained another three shots to leave the scoreline at 8-2 and in the eighth end Alan picked up two shots to leave him and Ivor requiring four shots in the last end to level the game which unfortunately they were unable to do.

Mr Derek Thompson, the Club Captain, thanked the members of the club for their help each night of play and a special thank you was given to there secretary Roslyn Gray for running the competition.

Derek also give thanks to the bowlers for supporting their tournament and then called upon Barbara Irvine club chairperson to come forward to present the prizes to the winners.