The success of St. Michael’s College in the MacRory cup arena 50 years ago was celebrated at the College on Friday evening.

The well attended event not only marked the success of the first team to win the cup 50 years ago in 1973 but also the teams that lost five finals in the years 1965, 1968, 1969, 1970 and 1974.

The school was keen to recognise the contribution those teams made to St. Michael’s College’s rich MacRory Cup tradition and laid the foundations for further success throughout the years.

It was nearly 20 years until St. Michael's won their second title in 1992 and they won a further five Cups from 1999 through to their most recent success in 2019 that went on to lift a first ever Hogan Cup in Croke Park.

A rich history that all started with a famous run that culminated in that final win 50 years ago.